Main Menu English Русский
Contacts FAQ Links
North Atlantic   INDIAN OCEAN   North Pacific
South Atlantic Indian sector of Antarctic South East Asia Indo-Pacific South Pacific
The Indian Ocean is the third largest and deepest ocean on Earth, accounting for about 20% of its water surface. Its area is 76.174 million km², volume - 282.65 million km³. The deepest point of the ocean is in the Sunda Trench (7729 meters).
In the north, it washes Asia, in the west - Africa, in the east - Australia; in the south it borders on Antarctica. The Indian Ocean is approximately 10,000 km wide between the southern points of Australia and Africa.
The mid-ocean ridge in the Indian Ocean consists of three branches that diverge from the central part of the ocean. Thus, the ridges divide the ocean floor into 3 sectors. In each of the three sectors, characteristic relief forms are distinguished: hollows, individual ridges, plateaus, mountains, trenches, canyons, etc.
In the western sector, there are the largest basins: Somali (with depths of 3000–5800 m), Mascarene (4500–5300 m), Mozambique (4000–6000 m), Madagascar Basin (4500–6400 m), Agulhas (4000–5000 m) ; underwater ridges: Mascarensky ridge, Madagascar; plateau: Agulhas, Mozambique; separate mountains: Equator, Afrikana, Vernadsky, Hall, Bardina, Kurchatova; Amiranta Trench, Mauritius Trench; canyons: Zambezi, Tanganyika and Tagela. In the northeastern sector, there are depressions: Arabian (4000–5000 m), Central (5000–6000 m), Coconut (5000–6000 m), North Australian (Argo Plain; 5000–5500 m), Western Australian Basin ( 5000–6500 m), Naturalist (5000–6000 m) and the South Australian Basin (5000–5500 m); underwater ridges: Maldives ridge, East Indian ridge, West Australian (Broken Plateau); the Cuvier mountain range; Exmouth Plateau; Mill Upland; separate mountains: Moscow State University, Shcherbakov and Afanasy Nikitin; East Indian trench; canyons: the Indus, Ganges, Sitown and Murray rivers. In the Antarctic sector - the basins: Crozet (4500-5000 m), the African-Antarctic basin (4000-5000 m) and the Australian-Antarctic basin (4000-5000 m, maximum - 6089 m); plateaus: Kerguelen, Crozet and Amsterdam; separate mountains: Lena and Ob.
There are 10 seas in the Indian Ocean, 4 of which are located in the Indian Ocean sector of Antarctica:
1. Red Sea
2. Arabian Sea
3. Laccadive Sea
4. Andaman Sea
5. Timor Sea
  6. Arafura Sea
7. Mawson Sea
8. Davis Sea
9. Sea Commonwealth
10. Sea of Astronauts
Full or partial publication of any materials of this site on the Internet is possible only upon receipt of written permission from the site administration with the obligatory indication of direct indexed references to the original material.
Full or partial publication of any materials of this site in any other media is possible only by special agreement with the administration of the site